County ACLU

Contact us
Student chapter

National and Illinois

Join the ACLU

What is the ACLU?
A brief history
Choosing cases
How it works
FOIA Guide
Illinois ACLU
Drone policy
National ACLU

Join member listserv

If using Gmail, your listserv membership confirmation request may be under your Promotions tab.

These web pages, maintained by the Champaign County ACLU, were last updated on October 1, 2023 by bi

Above is a screenshot of the graphics used in our original website, designed by Steering Committee member Stuart Laird in 2002. Stuart has also generated much of the content of the site. In 2013, the pages were converted to HTML5 and the original graphics were replaced with a left-side menu bar that could easily include new menu items.

Contact information for the Champaign County ACLU Chapter

If you believe your civil liberties have been violated and you need assistance, contact the ACLU office for the state in which you live. In Illinois, contact the Illinois Division in Chicago.

If you are interested in joining the ACLU or want more information or to RSVP, send email to

The local ACLU Steering Committee meets at 7:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month on Zoom. If you are not a member of Steering but would like to attend, email president (at) for the Zoom login information.

If you wish to make a gift, please make out the check to Chapaign County ACLU
and send it to: PO Box 2651 Station A, Champaign, IL 61825-2651. If it is a memorial gift, please indicate the person being honored in a note or in the check's note/memo section.

   President               Carol Leff president (at)
   Vice-President          Ruth Wyman
   Secretary               Barbara Hudgings
   Treasurer               Karl Weingartner
   Communications Director Carol Spindel

Steering Committee

  • Tony Allegretti
  • Amani Ayad
  • Jim Barrett
  • Jennifer Enoch
  • Barbara Hudgings
  • Bob Illyes
  • Julie Laut
  • Carol Leff
  • Jane McClintock
  • Ben Mueller
  • Leslie Reagan
  • Melissa Schoeplein
  • Carol Spindel
  • Pamela Van Wyk
  • Karl Weingartner
  • Ruth Wyman


  • Susan Cohen
  • Harry Hilton
  • Bob Kugel
  • Stuart Laird
  • Esther Patt
  • Shirley Stillinger


  • James S. Ayars was elected chair at our first meeting on November 28, 1961. He was an activist for civil liberties, human rights and peace, an author of books for young people, and a technical editor at the Illinois Natural History Survey. Details are available from the UI Library Archives.

  • Victor J. Stone was elected to our first executive committee and remained involved for almost 50 years. He was described by Colleen Connell, Executive Director of the Illinois ACLU, as "a giant of constitutional jurisprudence." Details may be found at the AAUP.